page tools :
email page print page small type large type

In the News

Seven Teachers Honored with Excellence in Teaching Award
Posted 07/05/2017 04:38PM

Each year, Shorewood teachers who go above and beyond in the classroom and community are honored with the Shorewood Excellence in Teaching Award. This year, the honorees were Jeff Cartier, Eric Gietzen, Mike Gregornik, Eric Mathews (back row from left); Angela Hayes, Sara Kitzinger Anton, and Christine Jacquart (front row from left). On Thursday, June 22, a dinner honoring the seven teachers was held at North Star Bistro and each teacher was presented with a $5,000 award, thanks to funding from a generous donor.

To be eligible for selection, teachers must be full time employees and must be nominated by students, teachers, or other members of the Shorewood community. Nominated teachers then choose whether or not they would like to apply for the award, following the nomination process.

The selection committee then chooses the recipients based on the following criteria: Student Achievement, Inspiration, and Culture & Community. The teacher must demonstrate characteristics such as fostering academic and personal growth for all students, engaging students through creative and innovative approaches to learning, and collaborating with colleagues to make Shorewood Schools a better place to learn and teach.

Congratulations to this year's seven honorees for their hard work and dedication to the District and the community.

SHS Calendar

    • TueJan23 School Board Meeting 7:00 PM
    • TueJan30 Stairway to Heroin Community Event 6:30 PM to 8:00 PMSHS Auditorium
    • TueFeb13 School Board Meeting 7:00 PM
    • TueFeb20 2018 Spring Primary Election
    • TueFeb27 School Board Meeting 7:00 PM
    • TueMar13 School Board Meeting 7:00 PM
    • MonMar19 Advanced Learning Information Session 6:00 PMSHS Library
    • TueApr03 2018 Spring Election
    • TueApr10 School Board Meeting 7:00 PM
    • ThuApr12 Special Education Info Session 6:00 PMSHS Library

powered by finalsite