Teachers Honored with 2021 Shorewood Excellence in Teaching Award

Each year, the Shorewood Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes teachers who demonstrate a deep commitment to academic and artistic achievement, model professional and innovative teaching practices, and inspire students, colleagues, and the community through their dedication and leadership. 

For the 2020-21 school year, the honorees selected were:

Individual Awards

sam p Samantha Prystawik, Special Education Teacher (SIS)
julie n Julie Nolan, Orchestra Teacher (Atwater and Lake Bluff)
kersten m Kerstin Mestelle, Sixth Grade Teacher (Atwater)
kelsey k Kelsey Klawien, Special Education Teacher (SIS)
kevin k
Kevin Karman, Art Teacher (Lake Bluff)

Group Award


jackie b
john s
Jackie Butkovich
John Stanco
Fifth Grade Humanities Group (Atwater)

The District proudly congratulates these honorees for their hard work and dedication to the District and the community.* Each individual winner receives $5,000 and the group winners receive $10,000.

Eligible teachers can be nominated by their peers, students, community members or district parents. To be eligible for selection, teachers must be full time employees. Once nominated, teachers then choose whether or not they would like to apply for the award, following the next steps in the nomination and application process.

Finally, the selection committee chooses the recipients based on the following criteria: Student Achievement, Inspiration, and Culture & Community. Teachers must demonstrate characteristics such as fostering academic and personal growth for all students, engaging students through creative and innovative approaches to learning, and collaborating with colleagues to make Shorewood Schools a better place to learn and teach.

*Due to Covid-19, there will not be an in-person awards ceremony this year, but the winners of the 2019-20 and 2020-21 school years will be honored at a combined ceremony next summer with the 2021-22 winners. Details on this event will be forthcoming.