Teachers Honored with Shorewood Excellence in Teaching Award

Each year, Shorewood teachers who go above and beyond in the classroom and community are honored with the Shorewood Excellence in Teaching Award. This year, the individual honorees were Eva Gulotta, Joe King, Evan Schmidt, and Noelle Shanks. The group award went to Kristine Stridde and Krystle Thomas.

A dinner was held on Thursday, June 14 to honor the six teachers. Each teacher was presented with a $5,000 award, thanks to funding provided by a generous donor.

To be eligible for selection, teachers must be full time employees and must be nominated by students, teachers, or other members of the Shorewood community. Nominated teachers then choose whether or not they would like to apply for the award, following the next steps in the nomination and application process.

The selection committee then chooses the recipients based on the following criteria: Student Achievement, Inspiration, and Culture & Community. Teachers must demonstrate characteristics such as fostering academic and personal growth for all students, engaging students through creative and innovative approaches to learning, and collaborating with colleagues to make Shorewood Schools a better place to learn and teach.

Superintendent Bryan Davis attended the dinner to congratulate the honorees for their hard work and dedication to the District and the community.